What People Believe Vs. The Truth by Shannon

People generally think that people with autism and other disabilities as do not have functioning brains. To prove this stereotype wrong, Rosie King gave a speech about how she had an extremely active imagination. In her speech, she said “One of the things I can do because I’m autistic — it’s an ability rather than a disability — is I’ve got a very, very vivid imagination. Let me explain it to you a bit. It’s like I’m walking in two worlds most of the time. There’s the real world, the world that we all share, and there’s the world in my mind, and the world in my mind is often so much more real than the real world. Like, it’s very easy for me to let my mind loose because I don’t try and fit myself into a tiny little box. That’s one of the best things about being autistic. You don’t have the urge to do that.” She talks about how she wouldn’t trade her imagination for anything and how her autism has made her feel free. She has also made a BBC documentary about her autism and is currently writing a book. Another example would be the short story, Movement, by Nancy Fulda. In this story, Hannah is a young girl with temporal autism. On page 58, she thinks “They do not know I’m listening. They think that, because I do not choose to respond, I do not notice they are there.” Hannah talks about how people don’t understand how complex she is, and how she sees everything in a deeper way. Another quote is “I am evolving, too, in my own small way. Connections within my brain are forming, surviving and perishing, and with each choice I make I alter the genotype of my soul. I think, that is what my parents fail most to see.” She constantly tries to express that she is more than what her parents think of her. My last example is Jason from the book Rules by Cynthia Lord. On page 47, Catherine offers to make more words for Jason’s speech book. Throughout the book, Jason wants more words so he can talk to people easier and expand the limits of what he can say. Jason wants to do things other kids can do, like run and go to dances. To conclude this paragraph, people with autism have fully functioning brains and should be treated as people, just as much as anyone else without a disability.

Leave a Reply

