How Loss Affected Junior by Sanjay

After losing someone important in your life, you start to feel different emotions.  Most people refer to this as the five stages of grief.  In the book “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” by Sherman Alexie, Junior felt all of these emotions except for bargaining.  He felt these when he lost his sister, his grandmother, and Eugene.

The first stage is denial.  In this stage you feel lost and confused where everything around you feels meaningless.  This stage helps get through the loss.  One example in the book is when Junior’s grandmother gets killed by a drunk driver.  He tried to deny the fact that she died that way because it wasn’t the right way for someone his grandma’s age.  He also didn’t want to believe the fact that she died that way.  Many people act like this at first for certain deaths that they experience.

The second stage is anger.  In this stage, the person suffering from the event starts to heal from their loss.  Junior realizes his own anger from Eugene’s death after his funeral.  He looked back on all the anger that he brought out on others.  In his mind, he says; “I could have easily killed myself, killed my mother and father, kill the birds, kill the trees, and kill the oxygen in the air.  More than anything, I wanted to kill god.  I was joyless.”  Anger in the end is the first connection to others after denial.  Although there is no evidence that Junior goes through the third stage (bargaining), he does manage to go to the fourth stage.

The fourth stage is depression which happens after bargaining.  This is the stage where you feel the most grief.  When in this stage, you feel that it will last forever.  After losing his grandmother, Junior feels this stage for a duration.  “I wanted to fall asleep and dream about killer wasps.  Yeah, I figured a nightmare would be better than reality.”  Junior thought about this after his sister Mary died.  He was so depressed that he thought that practically anything would be better.  Junior felt the deepest emotions in this stage.  In the end, Junior would move on to the fifth stage.

The fifth stage is acceptance.  Most people think that the fifth stage is where you become okay with losing a loved one.  That is not the case; in this stage, people accept reality.  Junior goes through this stage a couple times including after his grandmother’s death.  “Each funeral was a funeral for all of us.  We lived and died together.”  He learns to cherish the ones he still has to love.

All stages of are important when recovering from a loss.  Most of the time, when all occur, recovery goes smoother.  These stages are important to people like Junior.  These stages make “loss” and important aspect of this book.


2 thoughts on “How Loss Affected Junior by Sanjay

  1. Dear Sanjay,
    We think that this article was fantastic. We enjoyed how you included all descriptions the 5 stages of grief. I think that it would be helpful to other readers if you make the quotes more visible. I also think you should put a quote from the grandmother’s death in the 1st stage of grief. Overall this was a very interesting piece!

    From Anya and Angela


  2. Sanjay,
    I loved your post. The entire time I was drawn in out of curiosity. On this topic I could not agree more that Junior is going through the 5 stages of grief/death. The only thing I could see is that I wish you looked at the meaning of the bargaining stage. I quote “After the fires of anger have been blow out, the next stage is a desperate round of bargaining, seeking ways to avoid having the bad thing happen.” If it is true that the bargaining is to find the bad from happening, then Junior’s drawings is his way out. If you want a deeper explanation on that you can check out my video on it. (Yah, Self Advertising!) This was a great way to show what Junior is going through and I think you did great.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s