Love, Affection, and Loyalty in The Outsiders

The Outsiders

By: Emma

In the novel The Outsiders, by S.E. Hinton, Greasers stick together no matter what. They show affection, loyalty, and friendship. They are so close because they don’t have the ideal parents and they look out for each other. In the drive in Dally and Cherry didn’t get along very well. I thought Dally was disrespectful and nearly scared her to death. That’s why I was very surprised when she said, “I could fall in love with Dallas Winston. I hope I don’t see him again, or I will.” In the book I would say that Sodapop is one of the most loving characters. Soda is known as the ladies’ man. Pony says, “Soda attracted girls like honey draws flies.” Also, cherry says, “Man your brother is one doll.” I can see why Soda is getting all this attention. Although Soda gets attention from all the girls he is deeply in love with Sandy. Soda tells Ponyboy, “I think I’m gonna marry Sandy. After she gets out of school and I get a better job and everything.”

The friendships in this book are very strong. Steve Randle and Sodapop hve been best friends since grade school and are always together. Ponyboy doesn’t really like Steve that much, but he puts up with it for Soda’s sake. Darry and Pony don’t get along very well because Darry is so hard on him, but they do love each other. On page 17 Soda says to Pony, “Don’t let him bug you. He’s really proud of you ‘cause you’re so brainy. I mean, he loves you a lot.” I think that Darry just wants Pony to excel in life since he a Soda could not.

Pony and Soda have a really strong bond. On page 2 Pony says, “I loved Soda more than I’ve ever loved anyone, even Mom and Dad. Johnny and pony are very good friends. When Johnny gives Pony Gone with the Wind, and Johnny said, “I remember you sayin’ something about it once. And me and you went to see that movie, ‘member?” Pony couldn’t even remember telling him that he wanted to read it. Since they did not finish the book it shows how they did not finish theie friendship.

Cherry shows the most loyalty to the Greasers and much disloyalty to the Socs. Cherry offered to be the Greaser’s spy for the rumble. That showed that she doesn’t always agree with what the Socs do. I believe that Cherry is a very complex character in the book. When she talks about Bob, her boyfriend, she says all the good things about him. For example, he could be really sweet and friendly when he wanted to. Cherry can be both loyal to both gangs depending on how she feels.

The bond between Greasers and Socs are very different. Greasers help each other when they get jumped. When Johnny got jumped by Socs, all the gang ran to help him when he was hurt to the point when he had to go to the hospital. The Socs just want to jump Greasers with their friends and they don’t know anything about each other. For example the other Socs didn’t know that Randy hated fighting. The Greasers are closer together because when tragedy strikes they are always there for each other.

600full-the-outsiders-screenshot

