The Outsiders Character Comparison by Abigail

I have looked back on how the characters act, communicate, and their view on the world in The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. They all have very diverse personality types, which intrigue me to learn more about them. So I decided to see how they would react in situations, and then to compare and contrast to how I would react.

Anyways, I have come to the conclusion that I am most like not just one character, but 3, Sodapop, Darry, and Ponyboy. I am a combination of all three, and I share qualities and ways of thinking with all of them.

First up is Ponyboy. We both enjoy the company of ourselves, and we both can’t ever seem to please the people looking after us.  We are both loners and bookworms. We value our friendships, but can be tough enough to do the hard things in life. I’m proud to resemble Ponyboy, he seems to be very open to new ideas and forgiving.

I am also a lot like Darry. We both push ourselves and our family to do their best, and occasionally, have no time whatsoever to pamper ourselves, because we are too caught up into trying to fix other people’s problems. We get stressed easily, and often think we can do more than we really can. For an example, when Darry has to be roofer to support Soda & Ponyboy, he tries to lift too much material at once, and could hurt himself doing that. I’ve tried taking on plays and homework and sports all at one time, and it’s too much to handle. I get where Darry is coming from though, sometimes there just isn’t enough time to do what needs to get done.

Last but certainly not least, Sodapop. I’ve taken multiple quizzes online and this is the answer that came up most often. He is laid back, humorous, and just trying to make life the best and most fun it could possibly be. I try and focus on all of the opportunities I could have, to do something I enjoy. Not anyone else, just me. I have learned after some very difficult experiences, such as breaking down because I have too many problems to handle, including some that aren’t even mine. to just focus on me, and only how I want myself to be. I’ve stopped worrying about being the “mom” of my friend group, and trying to fix everyone else’s problems, and I feel Soda is the same way. He just want’s everyone to be happy. And that’s what I want too.

Overall I’m a mix of the boys, and I’m proud to say that, It means I’m a diverse person with a lot of character, and that’s certainly not a bad thing.

2 thoughts on “The Outsiders Character Comparison by Abigail

  1. Even though I didn’t do my blog post on what character I relate to most, I didn’t think about doing more than one character. I agree that you have a mix of the the Curtis brothers personalities and traits and you showed that very well in your post.

    Like

  2. I really like how you compared yourself to not one, not two, but three characters! It really gave your piece a lot of diversity, and I really enjoyed it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

