A Boy and A Girl Both Different Yet The Same Person

http://youtu.be/HHgCFkW_dh0

http://www.shmoop.com/the-outsiders/darrel-curtis.html

It is hard to choose just one of the characters in The Outsiders that I am most like. I originally thought I was three of them combined. I thought I was Ponyboy Dally and Darry. I realized something though. I realized Dally is too dark to be like me. I mean I am dark but not as dark as him. I am also not stupid and I am not a criminal. Dally and I have similarities like we both like to fight though I don’t fight for fun. I fight for self-defense not for just the feeling of blood rushing down my hands.

I finally came to the conclusion that I am most like Darry. I may be like Ponyboy but I am more like Darry. I am basically a version of him who digs sunsets and isn’t as ‘tuff’. Darry and I have many things in common. We both like to learn and we both love to show off strength. We also have responsibilities and love our family.

Learning is a passion and that is something not everyone shares. For me and Darry we have this special gift. We also share it with Ponyboy. Darry has a drive for learning and loves to show off his strength. Though I am not as strong as him I still enjoy to show off how strong I am. Serious is a common trait with me and Darry.   Darry is serious and can get violently angry if pushed too hard. That is exactly what happens to me sometimes.

Darry takes his work seriously and has many responsibilities. I may not have as many responsibilities as Darry but I would still take care of the ones I have. Darry must take care of his brothers since his parents died. I am the youngest so this means I won’t have to take care of my sister if this happens. I would still help as Sodapop does but I wouldn’t be the main one in charge.

I love my family as he loves Ponyboy and Sodapop. I would rather die than see the ones I love die. Darry is an intelligent person and he loves his brothers. I love my siblings whether or not I see them all the time or are with my birth family, a sibling is still a sibling and I love them the same. When Darry got overly mad at Ponyboy and slapped him he felt guilty. When I hurt my sister I feel guilty as well.

Darry once got called all brawn and no brain and nearly broke the guys jaw. I would have done the exact same thing in that sort of situation. Darry obviously doesn’t like being called that. He takes pride in his intellect and uses his mind a lot. I am the same way in this sense. I am proud to be whom I am and he is the same way. He may have regrets but he is a human being we all have regrets at one point or another.

I am glad that I share so many amazing qualities with Darry. I am also mad about some of these qualities. I snap as easily as Darry for reasons unknown to me. This is something I wish I didn’t have. Imagine a duckling who is adorable but then bites you. That is basically me and Darry combined. Friends are what make us who we are and are work is what keeps us going. I am proud of that.

 

by Carolyn

